Just a note…

I have already confessed here my unrequited desire to build a cabin in the woods. Today I came upon these tales of treehouses on the Mother Earth News site, and I have decided that a treehouse might fit my needs.

I have some deep memories from reading The Swiss Family Robinson and wanting to wash up on their shore to live in that unbelievably cool shipwreck treehouse.  And the article reminded me of the film version of Tarzan’s jungle treetop home. Plus Owl’s very nice place in Winnie the Pooh and Galadhrim in Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings.

Maybe being grounded is overrated.

tarzan-swiss

Disneyworld’s Tarzan Treehouse, which is actually the old Swiss Family Robinson Treehouse with some renovations. (Why would Tarzan have used a ship to build a treehouse?) I guess neither story resonates with kids today. I think the time is right for a SFR remake.

