Long Road Out Of Eden    Eagles : The Very Best Of (2CD)

The Eagles are back on tour. Hell will freeze over once again. A “farewell concert” has about as much meaning these days as retiring from football.

They will be in NJ June 10th. It’s not the summer kickoff – NJ’s own Bon Jovi will be there in May. But it’s the New Meadowlands Stadium.(Was that really the best name they could come up with? Couldn’t they get some company to put their name on it and lower the ticket prices?) That’s in good ol’ East Rutherford, New Jersey, home of the New Jersey Giants and Jets.

Did you think The Eagles had retired? Nope. The air will be filled with the aroma of both marijuana and BENGAY analgesic rub.

I guess it’s tough for Don Henley, Glenn Frey, Joe Walsh and Timothy B. Schmidt to pass on the good bucks that must come from these out-of-retirement gigs.

This is the Long Road Out of Eden tour. If you can’t afford tickets or make it to NJ, at least order a t-shirt and pretend you went.

This is all sounding too cynical. I really liked The Eagles in their heydays. I learned and played a lot of their songs on the guitar. But I just can’t get into the concerts any more. It’s not just the ticket prices ($50 – $225). I don’t like the crowds, the getting there, parking, concession stands – the whole thing.

For a mid-range ticket price, I could download all their albums and probably get a few by the “supporting acts” (We used to call them “opening acts”) the Dixie Chicks and Keith Urban.

I still like the music, but somewhere along the way I lost the love of all the rest of it.  Is that my long road out of Eden?

