I had picked up this book awhile back called The Female Brain and then stumbled upon a followup on the male brain.

The author posits that the male brain, through every phase of life, has a “male reality” that is fundamentally different from the female one.

Show of hands – who is surprised by that?

According to The Male Brain:

  • My brain is a problem-solving machine that when faced with a personal problem
  • I will use my analytical brain structures, not my emotional ones, to find a solution.
  • My brain loves competition.
  • I instinctively play rough.
  • I am obsessed with rank and hierarchy.
  • I have an area in there for sexual pursuit that is 2.5 times larger than the female brain which consumes me with sexual fantasies about female body parts.

Apparently, I had such a massive increase in testosterone at puberty that I even perceived others’ faces as being more aggressive.

Don’t blame me. It’s just the way I was built.

