Archie: The Classic Newspaper Comics (1946-1948)

There was a meme on Facebook awhile back and you were supposed to make your profile picture a comic or cartoon character. While I was surfing around for images, I discovered something pretty shocking about my old friend Archie Andrews of Riverdale.

I haven’t checked in on Archie, Jughead, Betty and Veronica in a lot of years and a lot has changed. One of the articles I read was titled Archie Gets Married and Goes to Hell.

The Married Life: Archie Loves Veronica (The Married Life Series)Did you know that the comic book Archie character finally got married?  After 68 years of dating and flirting, he married his high-school sweetheart, Veronica.  Read all about it in Life With Archie: The Married Life.  I was a little sad because I had been rooting for Betty all along.

Did marrying off Archie work for the publisher or was it a bad move?  The resulting comic, The Married Life: Archie Loves Veronica, sold 24 times their usual 2,500-odd copies per issue.

Yeah, I went to the local comic book shop and bought a few issues.

If you grew up with Archie, you will find it disorienting to see Archie and Veronica married and to see their marriage falter when you were used to seeing them  for decades as teenagers in a constant state of sexual tension and unrequited lust.

Heck, they’ve been that way since the 1950s in the Archie classics.  I can’t say whether or not Betty and Veronica actually acted as a gThe Archie Wedding: Archie in Will You Marry Me? (The Married Life Series)uide to dating for a generation, but they certainly had an impact on at least one generation.

The original Archie made his debut in 1941 and has been known ever since for his all-American wholesomeness. He also had a split passion for rich, brunette, glamorous Veronica and sporty, blonde girl next door Betty.

But a new management team at the publisher decided to bring him into the 21st century.

I’ll have to read a bit more before I explain all the changes, but the Veronica marriage hit me pretty hard. Then I find out there is an alternate universe marriage to Betty, and Archie has a career as a musician in New York City and…

Oh, they are really messing with my childhood.

The Love Showdown (Archie Americana Series)

The Love Showdown
Archie: The Classic Newspaper Comics (1946-1948)

