FeynmanI was browsing my local library’s shelves for inspiration this week and saw the cover of a book on Richard Feynman. When I opened it, I saw that it was a graphic novel.  I’m not one to read graphic novels but I have been interested in Richard Feynman since listening to some of his famous lectures on math & physics. Those are topics I am interested in – and have no real background or aptitude for – and I thought maybe a graphic novel version would work.

It did. I ripped through in two nights and it’s an interesting way to learn about his life and learn some physics.

Feynman was an American theoretical physicist known for his work in quantum mechanics, the theory of quantum electrodynamics (QED) and particle physics.

For his  contributions to the development of quantum electrodynamics, he received jointly with Julian Schwinger and Sin-Itiro Tomonaga the Nobel Prize in Physics in 1965.

The graphic nature of the book might be appropriate because he also used a pictorial representation scheme for the mathematical expressions governing the behavior of subatomic particles which became known as Feynman diagrams.

I didn’t know until I read this book that he was involved in the development of the atomic bomb. I also missed that he was a member of the panel that investigated the Space Shuttle Challenger disaster.

Feynman wrote a number of books including  Surely You’re Joking, Mr. Feynman! (Adventures of a Curious Character) and What Do You Care What Other People Think?: Further Adventures of a Curious Character.


Fraser Davidson made this animated video to accompany Feynman talking about the nature of beauty. From the BBC interview for Horizon ‘The Pleasure of Finding Things Out.”

http://www.feynmanonline.com

