The Takeaway is a morning news program hosted by John Hockenberry that I listen to most days. But I have to say that my favorite segment on the show is the weekly Movie Date.

Since my wife and I try for a weekly movie date, I like the idea. I especially love it when you see a movie that gets you talking about it on the way out of the theater. That’s why having another couple along is a good idea. Since we don’t always double date, I’m glad we have Kristen Meinzer (producer on The Takeaway) and Rafer Guzman (legitimate movie critic  for Newsday) to take along.

I like their opinions. I like when they disagree. I like that their taste in movies is different. I especially like that they never really focus on a film but get off into a genre or related films.

Here are some descriptions of recent episodes:

Rafer confesses to being a magic nerd, Kristen talks about girl-on-girl action, Rafer admits to liking big beds, and Kristen uses some barnyard language. It’s all in honor of “The Call,” “The Incredible Burt Wonderstone,” “Ginger and Rosa,” and “Spring Breakers.”

Rafer and Kristen review “Dead Man Down,” “Emperor,” and “Oz: The Great and Powerful.” Along the way, they contemplate the power of Tyler Perry, the scariness of The Incredible Hulk, and the style choices of Joan Crawford. A warning: this week’s trivia question refers to a certain college past time involving marijuana, “The Wizard of Oz,” and Pink Floyd.

I recall that a review of the movie SALT went off  into female action heroes like Barbarella.  The review of INCEPTION explores whether or not we like being outsmarted by a movie.

So, yes, this is not Cahiers du Cinema . Then again, Cahiers du Cinema isn’t Cahiers du Cinema any more.  This is not so much film reviews as it is movie reviews.  And I mean that is a good way.  When they reviewed a pretty dreadful MARMADUKE, they go back to BABE and OLD YELLER.

They also do a trivia question and I have lucked into getting my voice on the air twice for having the wright answer.  Thirteen more times and I will have my 15 minutes of fame.

They are on Facebook too  facebook.com/moviedatepodcast  and their website is at thetakeaway.org/articles/takeaway-movie-date

I wonder if Kristen and Rafer ever do a double date?

