All the Mayan talk from 2012 has gone away. I had written back then about The Return of Quetzalcoatl by Daniel Pinchbeck. Pinchbeck was described by Publishers Weekly as a “journalist and author of the drug-riddled psychonaut investigation Breaking Open the Head: A Psychedelic Journey into the Heart of Contemporary Shamanism” and they described his 2012 book as one that “creates an Einstein thought experiment based on the Mayan prophecy that 2012 will bring about the end of the world as we know it.”

So, the world did not end on the 2012 winter solstice. Well, not in an “end of the world” as in a flash-of-light-and-poof-it’s-gone scenario, but perhaps the end of the world as we know in the “I Feel Fine” sense of the song. That is, as Pinchbeck sees it: “the conclusion of a vast evolutionary cycle, and the potential gateway to a higher level of manifestation.”

Though I haven’t spotted Quetzalcoatl around here yet, Pinchbeck sees us in the final stages of a global shift. Some people talk about end times, but he talks about a shift from materiality to spirituality.

Among the Aztecs, Quetzalcoatl was related to gods of the wind, of Venus, of the dawn, crafts and knowledge and was the patron god of the Aztec priesthood, learning and knowledge.Quetzalcoatl was one of the important gods in the Aztec pantheon. Listening to a musical interpretation of “The Return Of Quetzalcoatl” doesn’t relax me.

Pinchbeck’s path leads to the hallucinogenic drug called dripropyltryptamine (DPT) of which he says,”For several weeks after taking DPT, I picked up flickering hypnagogic imagery when I closed my eyes at night. In one scene, I entered a column of fire rising from the center of Stonehenge again and again, feeling myself pleasantly annihilated by the flames each time.”

I myself am not one seeking transcendence via hallucinogenics, but there are a growing number who are taking that path. (See DMT: The Spirit Molecule: A Doctor’s Revolutionary Research into the Biology of Near-Death and Mystical Experiences by Rick Strassman)

Reading the news since that last winter solstice hasn’t made me think we have entered a new age. At least, not a good new age. See any signs of it?

Amazon.com Widgets

