A Confederacy of Dunces by John Kennedy Toole

This is probably the funniest book I have read. I read it more than 20 years ago, but nothing else has surpassed it. I’ve read twice since then.

I also listened to it on tape (read brilliantly by Artie Johnson – yes, THAT Artie Johnson from TV’s Laugh In) and found myself laughing out loud. (Not bad in a car; odd when you’re walking in the park.)

14 Things I Love In This Book

  1. the unbelievably wonderful and weird Ignatius J. Reilly
  2. his green hunting cap
  3. his mother
  4. Myrna Minkoff, his girl friend (don’t make that one word)
  5. New Orleans
  6. his manuscript written on Big Chief writing pads
  7. Patrolman Mancuso
  8. his brief career as a hotdog vendor
  9. the Levy Pants Company
  10. Miss Trixie
  11. Darlene the stripper (and her cockatoo)
  12. Dorian Greene
  13. the Night of Joy nightclub

 

1 Thing I Find Sad About This Book

John Kennedy Toole committed suicide in 1969 before his novel was even considered for publication. His mother submitted it to publishers after his death and the book won the 1981 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction.

