14

Recognize this land from literature?

Regular readers of this blog will know that I have a fascination with maps. Having picked up a degree in literature along the way, those two mix very nicely in literary maps.

I don’t know what the first book was that I encountered that had a settings map inside of it. It might have been a Pooh book. I liked having a sense of the places in the book. It reminded me of a treasure map more than a map used to navigate.

Book maps 6

Pooh’s 100 Acre Wood

When I taught middle school and high school, I sometimes had my students create maps of the settings in novels. It is a great way to visualize the settings. It also takes quite a bit of critical thinking to determine locations based on small clues in the book. If one setting is an hour’s walk away from another, how far should it be on the map?

lord2

The Island from the Lord of the Flies

lord1

I actually prefer the student maps.

 

In the novel, Watership Down, there was a map in the edition I read and I added my own notes to it. I also did a bit of research and discovered that it was based on a real place.

 

Book maps 12

 

Can you identify a book from its map? I took an online quiz and was disappointed that I only scored 8 of 10 correct answers. I should have done better, considering that when I read a book with a map like the one above, I actually imagine myself rowing a boat past Skeleton Island.

 

