I came across one of those linkbait headlines that says “The Sexiest 3 Words a Man Can Say to a Woman.” And I know there is no universal answer. I immediately think of the obvious answers: “I love you.” “You look beautiful.”

And I click the link. It opens with those two possibilities too, and they are not the answer. It also offers these incorrect answers: “Let’s go shopping!” (depends how you say it, but still, no) “How’s your mother?” (no, this will just make her suspicious of you)

The author says that he is referring to three words that “speak to primal forces within both men and women. An archetypal trip wire, these eight letters strung together can trigger a man’s spine to straighten and make a woman swoon.”

Wow. That’s asking a lot of three words.

couple

Generic photo found by doing a search on “sexy couple talking.” But not one that had them in bed.

I read the article and wonder if “sexy” is the correct word? It is the word that catches reader attention, I suppose. Should it be “romantic” or “loving”?

In the article, Bryan Reeves is recounting something that happened to someone else. His prose is… well, you choose an adjective.  He says that the woman who received the three words said that those words “slid from his masculine mouth smooth as a river stone and strong as steel.” I want to meet this woman. ”   She swooned. She relaxed.  “Under his sudden spell she felt herself completely protected and cherished by this man’s love.”

Was alcohol involved?  Am I being too cynical?

Spoiler Alert: You can read the article, but here’s my spoiler for non-clicking readers. The three words he said were “I got this.”

Meaning: I will do this task. I would assume it needs to be a task the woman can’t or doesn’t want to do. He said it and he did it. Turns out in the instance the article is based on, he walked her dog.

I asked my wife. She agreed that “sexy” was not the right adjective for the answer given. She said hearing “I got this” from me or even from one of our grown sons would be comforting and welcomed, but not at all sexy.

Of course, she could not tell me what the 3 sexist words I could say would be. She wasn’t withholding the secret phrase. She said it all depends on the context. They might be “I need you” or even “I love you” or “You look beautiful” or you might need a lot more than three words.

There are notes at the end of the piece that say the article appeared on This Wild Waking Journey but I found it on The Good Men Project site which certainly sounds like a noble cause

The article has a lot of comments and sometimes those are as interesting as the article. As you would imagine, some readers say he “nailed it” and others say they couldn’t even finish it because it’s such a ridiculous idea that there would even be three words. Of course, your comments can appear right here on this post, if you are so inclined. Maybe you have found the three words.

