Have you recovered yet from the deluge of thanks that were supposed to be given and received yesterday? Thanksgiving has always been my favorite holiday because it was less commercial than Christmas, Halloween, Easter and all the other holidays of my childhood. Was less commercial. It is slipping into the commercial morass of the other holidays. Black Friday and Cyber Monday seem as important as family dinner. People are thankful for good price savings.

I read an article inspirationandchai.com awhile ago that was written by someone who worked in palliative care and dealt with patients who had gone home to die.

Mortality makes us thankful and regretful. I know that when I am at a funeral or even hear about someone’s untimely death, I always think about my death and try to be thankful for all I have, but also tick off the regrets for what I have not done or haven’t been thankful for.

The writer said that there were five common regrets or things they would do differently and I wrote them in my blogging notebook. I suspect many people reading this page share at least a few of them.

1. I wish I’d had the courage to live a life true to myself, not the life others expected of me.
2. I wish I didn’t work so hard.
3. I wish I’d had the courage to express my feelings.
4. I wish I had stayed in touch with my friends.
5. I wish that I had let myself be happier.

The wording of those five is interesting. Take that fifth one. I might have said “I wish I had been happier,” but that doesn’t recognize that happiness is a choice.

Lately, I have been not working full-time and have theoretically had more “free time.” I should be seeing more of my friends. But I think I have actually seen less of them somehow. Why is that? Next week, I roll back into a more full-time life again, and so I regret not having taken advantage of the free time I had the past year or so.

