This is about two Sirius topics. Not so serious and not very well connected, except for the name.

Sirius is the brightest star in the nighttime sky tonight and most of the winter. (Venus and Jupiter outshine Sirius this month but I’m not considering planets.) And Sirius is easy to find in that sky full of stars.  Almost everyone can find Orion’s belt of three stars (if that is no longer true, please don’t tell me. It would depress me immensely.), and if you follow the imaginary line of that belt of medium-bright stars in Orion’s Belt, you will arrive at this bright white Sirius.

sirius black

That other Sirius is Sirius Black,  a pure-blood wizard in the wizarding world of Harry Potter. He is the older son of Orion (Aha! A star connection!) and Walburga Black (from Saint Walpurga and that Walpurgis Night of witches?) , and the brother of Regulus (also named for a bright star).

Sirius parted ways with the Black family and their belief in blood purity. He was sorted into Gryffindor instead of Slytherin at Hogwarts.  According to the harrypotter.wikia.com, he attended that school from 1971 to 1978, which coincides with my own college years.

I like Sirius. My favorite line of his is probably when he tells Harry “We’ve all got both light and dark inside us. What matters is the part we choose to act on. That’s who we really are.”  I agree and I would certainly have joined the Order of the Phoenix with him, Harry’s father, James, and Lupin. (I would have had my doubts about letting Pettigrew join.) I would have been happy to be a Marauder against Voldemort.

Sirius is Harry’s godfather – a title some might find odd for families of wizards.

sirius whiteThere are brighter stars than Sirius in absolute magnitude, but they are much farther away. Sirius is in the constellation Canis Major (the Greater Dog) and appears very bright because it is only 8.6 light-years away. Right in that constellation, Aludra and Omicron 2 are probably brighter but are also about 3,000 light-years away.

Sirius Black is an Animagus – a wizard who has learned to morph into an animal at will. Sirius becomes a massive black dog, like his brother star in Canis (dog) Major.

