Noon: Rest from Work (after Millet) - Vincent Van Gogh

                     Noon: Rest from Work (after Millet) – Vincent Van Gogh

It has been a strange week. One topic that came up a lot in my life this week was retirement.

I might be retired now, though I don’t think I’ll be able to say that for sure until next year, because I seem to be transitioning more than actually being retired.

I notice articles about retirement more now. Sadly, many of them are about money.  That seems to be the biggest fear most of us have about retiring. I fall into that group, but I don’t want that to be my biggest concern about the upcoming years.

Most of those articles are about investments, savings, housing expenses, downsizing, relocating, healthcare, long-term care, retirement income and Social Security benefits. There are many books and websites about preparing to retire and almost all of them focus on money.

I would prefer to be thinking about travel, being with family more, writing, reading and still finding work and play that I want to do and find satisfying.

I realize that having enough money to do those things is a necessary part of planning, but that can’t be the thing that concerns me now and continues to worry me for the rest of my life. What kind of retirement would that be?  And I’m not suddenly going to hit the lottery so that money is no longer a concern. My wife and I did the things with our money for the past 40 years that we were “supposed” to do, so I need to get beyond that aspect and, if anything, plan a lifestyle that fits the money rather than try to get more money to build a lifestyle.

More to come…

 

