Learning to Write By Writing

“Writing teaches writing,” says John McPhee in an interview in The Paris Review. I have written about McPhee earlier and I admire him as a writer. I suspect he is a good teacher of writing, but I have never sat in his Princeton classroom. I have read his books and I agree that writing is a way to learn to write better, but I also think that reading plays a big role in learning to become a better writer.

A regular practice of writing helps you become more comfortable with the act of writing, improves your fluency, and allows you to experiment with different styles and forms of writing. It also helps you develop discipline and the habit of writing regularly.

John Steinbeck said, “In writing, habit seems to be a much stronger force than either willpower or inspiration. Consequently there must be some little quality of fierceness until the habit pattern of a certain number of words is established. There is no possibility, in me at least, of saying, “I’ll do it if I feel like it.” One never feels like it awaking up day after day. In fact, given the smallest excuse, one will not work at all. The rest is nonsense. Perhaps there are people who can work that way, but I cannot. I must get my words down every day whether they are any good or not.”

But a person stranded on a desert island or alone in a mountaintop cabin writing in isolation may not become any better as a writer. That is especially true for the young or new writer. The young poet writing in their bedroom and hiding their poems from the world would benefit from reading other poets, but would greatly benefit from receiving feedback. I don’ even think Emily Dickinson is an exception. I think she would have been an even better poet with an audience and feedback.

Feedback from peers, mentors, or editors is invaluable for identifying areas of improvement in your writing. Constructive criticism can help you pinpoint weaknesses in your writing style, structure, clarity, and grammar. It may also lead to more reading. “Have you ever read Hemingway’s short stories? You should. They might help you learn how to be simpler and more concise in your stories.”

Which leads me to the practice of studying the works of others. Reading extensively exposes you to different writing styles, genres, and techniques. Analyzing the works of accomplished writers helps you understand how they construct sentences, develop characters, create vivid descriptions, and evoke emotions, enabling you to incorporate similar techniques into your own writing. Reading things from outside your usual reading comfort zone is also useful. This might include books about the craft of writing, but it is also about reading others who write in your genre. Poets read poetry.

Reading also helps expand your vocabulary and allows you to express yourself more precisely and creatively. Of course, that means you find the definition of that new word you encounter. Maybe keep a list of those new words to use in your writing at an appropriate place. I include with my new vocabulary interesting phrases, idioms, and even a great sentence you encounter.

I taught English but grammar was not my strength in high school or college. I learned it on the job – teaching it to students. Creativity is essential in writing, and having a solid grasp of grammar rules and stylistic conventions is also important. Understanding sentence structure, punctuation, tense usage, and other grammatical concepts enables you to communicate effectively and maintain coherence in your writing. Most of us don’t have proofreaders or editors checking our work. (Well, possibly some technology-driven ones.)

Writing often is a fundamental aspect of improving your writing skills, combining it with feedback, reading, expanding your vocabulary, and enhancing your grammar and style will yield the best results.

Thus ends the sermon.

Published by

Ken

A lifelong educator on and offline. Random by design and predictably irrational. It's turtles all the way down. Dolce far niente.

Add to the conversation about this article

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.